Series: Wonderland Quartet

Author: Elaine Showalter

A Garden of Earthly Delights (2003)
3.8 of 5 Votes: 1
This book was published in 1967 and is the first book of the Wonderland Quartet. That year I was a junior at the University of Michigan, married with a one year old son. I had recently avoided being drafted because I was a father. I worked almost full time at the Ann Arbor Post Office as an eveni...
Expensive People (2006)
3.7 of 5 Votes: 3
Oates's third novel, originally published in 1968, is the riveting story of a child murderer told by the killer himself. Nominated for a 1968 National Book Award, Expensive People is a stunning combination of social satire and gothic horror. Joyce Carol Oates' Wonderland Quartet comprises four r...
them (2006)
3.72 of 5 Votes: 3
SpoilersJoyce Carol Oates' 'Them' is a dark yet beautiful piece of with. At times, it reminds me of Flannery O'Connor, or McCullers southern gothic style—'Them', although considered a work of 'realistic fiction', is just slightly insane, like someone chatty Cathy waiting at a lonely bus stop with...