Series: Sword Of Honour

Author: Evelyn Waugh

The Sword of Honour Trilogy: Men at Arms/Officers & Gentlemen/Unconditional Surrender (1986)
4.25 of 5 Votes: 2
This trilogy spanning World War II, based in part on Evelyn Waugh's own experiences as an army officer, is the author's surpassing achievement as a novelist. Its central character is Guy Crouchback, head of an ancient but decayed Catholic family, who at first discovers new purpose in the challeng...
The Sword of Honour Trilogy (1994)
4.24 of 5 Votes: 2
Guy Crouchback, lonely, divorced, and living in Italy, returns to the UK at the beginning of the Second World War, and tries to do his patriotic duty by joining the army. Because of his age, however, no one will have him. Eventually, though an acquaintance of his father's, he joins the regiment o...