Series: Jonathan Argyll

Author: Iain Pears

The Bernini Bust (2001)
3.59 of 5 Votes: 1
Originally published on my blog here& in July 2000.The third of Pears' Jonathan Argyll novels is by far the most wide ranging in setting, much of the action (including the murder) taking place in Los Angeles rather than Italy, the country which basically contains the other stories. Jonathan trave...
The Raphael Affair (1998)
3.55 of 5 Votes: 3
”But she was most struck by the reaction from the audience. They were not admiring the delicacy of the brush strokes, the masterly application of shading or the subtleties of the composition, that was certain. They were ogling. Not a usual reaction for connoisseurs. She herself was caught up in t...
Death and Restoration (2003)
3.65 of 5 Votes: 5
The author writes plots in this series which remind me of Russian Matryoshka dolls. Some of the books nest up to six dolls deep in twists, while others nest four. This is a five doll mystery. The characters, Flavia di Stefano and Jonathan Argyll, are quickly moved along a life timeline as well; F...
The Immaculate Deception (2000)
3.61 of 5 Votes: 4
L'ultimo caso nel mondo dell'arte per Jonathan Argyll e Flavia Di StefanoFlavia Di Stefano e Jonathan Argyll sono sposati da quattro settimane. Jonathan è un ex mercante d’arte inglese, un po’ pasticcione, con una spiccata tendenza a mettersi nei guai: quando un quadro viene rubato o viene commes...